Community Health Boards: CHBs
Community Health Boards

We want to hear from you!

  • What makes a healthy community?
  • What impacts health in your community?
  • How can we work together to make our communities healthier?

The six volunteer Community Health Boards (CHBs) with the Cape Breton District Health Authority are hosting focus groups and public town hall meetings.

Help the CHBs develop their annual health plans and help build healthier communities.

Anyone interested in attending a public town hall can contact their local CHB chair (please see below).

Town hall dates:

  • March 17 – Central Inverness CHB – Whycocomagh Waterfront Centre – 6:30 pm (storm date will be March 24)
  • April 22 – North Inverness CHB – St. Joseph de Moine Fire Hall – 7 pm

Town hall and focus group questions:

  • 1. What does a healthy community mean to you?
  • 2. What do you see as the issues/challenges affecting the health of your community
  • 3. Where should we focus our energy?
  • 4. Who do you think needs our help and why?
  • 5. What kinds of things are you/your organization/your community doing to promote health and wellness?
  • 6. What are your ideas for solutions/partnerships?
  • 7. Is there anything else you would like to add?

We look forward to seeing you!


There are six volunteer Community Health Boards (CHBs) in the Cape Breton District. While the District works to promote and educate people about healthier choices through a population health model, the CHBs enhance that commitment by sponsoring and supporting various community based initiatives designed to improve the overall health of a community.  This is mandated under the Health Authorities Act, Bill No. 34, effective 01 January 2001.  Through this Act, CHB responsibilities are to:



o       Develop a community health plan for each fiscal year (April to March) and provide it to the CBDHA Board.

o       Construct community health profiles

o       Prepare an inventory of community based health services delivered in the community

o       Support the implementation of appropriate sections of the community health plan

o       Manage or assist with community development grants

o       Foster community development

o       Provide advice and assistance to CBDHA

The community health plan serves as a tool to provide advice and input to the District's Board of Directors and help to identify health priorities. This helps the District to better understand the health needs and challenges in a community. The plans also support the District's overall business planning, program planning and Strategic Directions.

CHBs are active in promoting the District's Communities in Motion and Healthy Eating initiatives by providing funding grants to numerous community based groups for programs that encourage greater physical activity and healthy eating. The CHBs also coordinate the selection of groups for funding under the Nova Scotia Health Promotion and Protection, Wellness Initiative Fund for community based projects that help improve the health of the community.

For more information, please contact the board relevant to your area.




Central Inverness CHB 
South from Margaree to Maryville, East to Whycocomagh and Waycobah

Bill McCarthy
PO Box 610
39 James St., Inverness, NS
B0E 1N0

Bob Hartman-Berrier (Secretary)  248-2240


North Inverness CHB 
North of Harbour Bridge, north of Ford View Bridge

Noreen LeBlanc
P.O. Box 231
Cheticamp, NS
B0E 1H0

Victoria County CHB 
All of Victoria County area

Anne Farries
249 Campbell Rd.
Estmere, NS
B0E 1T0

East Cape Breton County CHB 
Victoria Mines, New Waterford, Glace Bay, Mira Gut, Grand Lake Rd to CBU

Reg Johnston
33 Bathgate Street
Glace Bay, NS   
B1A 1A3

Maureen McKinnon

Central Cape Breton County CHB 
Sydney, South Bar, Gabarus, Mira Road, Westmount, Coxhealth to Irish Cove

Elizabeth MacDonald
P.O. Box 706
Sydney, NS
B1P 6H4
577-0611 (cell)
562-8502   (work)

Northside the Lakes CHB 
Point Aconi, Sydney Mines, North Sydney, Point Edward, Northside East Bay, Eskasoni

Mary MacIsaac

Jackie Tobin
736-7952 - Office
736-7954 – Fax

Community Health Coordinator
Debbie Martell
Northside General Hospital
520 Purves Street
North Sydney, NS
B2A 3M4
902-794-3355 (fax)

Administrative Assistant
Benita Manzine
Population Health & Research
Dept of Community Health
563-1833 (office)